New Columnus Metallicus on The Quietus

23 Mar

Now that Cosmo Lee is set to quit Invisible Oranges, there will be even less intelligent writing about heavy music online. So it’s good to see a new edition of Columnus Metallicus over at TQ. Their metal coverage while always excellent has become increasingly and worryingly sparse of late.

I wonder why we don’t get better writing about heavy music? Surely not all fans of the heavy are inarticulate teens?

6 Responses to “New Columnus Metallicus on The Quietus”

  1. hhbrady March 26, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    I think there’s a couple of reasons. Metal tends to skew younger, so you’ve got teens/young adults, a large percentage of whom are just listening to blow off steam or to seem more cool/dangerous/ whatever, and don’t care to really listen to the music, and then many are just too young to articulate their feelings about the music.

    Unfortunately, most people I know look at metal as “kid’s” music, and once they get older, think they should listen to something else (even if they still like it)– so you lose some of your articulate potential writers right there.

    You get the opposite problem with jazz– it skews practically ancient, and while you get(overly) articulate writers for it, you don’t get anyone just going nuts over something, because they feel like that’s uncivilized, or uncouth, or whatever.

    I wrote a review of Walter Smith III’s live album basically like you’d write a metal review– with cursing, exclamation points, etc. He actually posted the review on his site, and said “Never seen anything like it.”

    Which is almost sad, because pretty much every metal review is written from that standpoint, with as much enthusiasm as articulation.

    It seems like intelligence and enthusiasm are almost mutually-exclusive in a writer.

  2. hhbrady March 26, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Sorry– I meant mutually-exclusive in a METAL writer.

  3. Kuz March 27, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Good points. I know I certainly get some funny looks from people when I say I like metal (as I am sadly no longer a kid by any stretch of the imagination). It’s odd really as if I said I was into breakcore, drill n bass or similarly extreme electronic music, I doubt I would get the same reaction. Indeed the more abrasive and experimental side of electronic music attracts plenty of verbiage, pretentious and otherwise.

    I certainly thought I had “grown out of metal” in my late teens and twenties, only coming back to it in my 30s. I fervently wish now that I hadn’t got rid of all that classic metal vinyl when I thought jungle and techno were the be all and end all in the mid to late 90s.

    Then again, I feel my long (and continuing) musical wanderings outside of metal affect my current appreciation of it in a positive way.

    I guess that’s the beauty of blogs. If you can’t find what you are looking for, (try to) do it yourself!

  4. Toby Columnus May 11, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Cheers for spreading the “Columnus Metallicus” love gents… At the risk of being accused of shameless self promotion, the latest installment is up on tQ right now! http://thequietus.com/articles/06220-columnus-metallicus-may

    (It is my aim to make the columns more regular than they are – ie, at least once a month – but, y’know, shit happens!)

    • Kuz May 12, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      Hi Toby, thanks for letting us know about the new column. It’s always eagerly awaited here at MDG. I discovered Black Breath thanks to your recommendation of the Razor to Oblivion EP.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Indie/Alternative Music Websites For Those Wanting to Be “In The Know”: Part 1 | SongLyrics News - October 5, 2011

    […] The Quietus also covers everything from “dubstep, death metal (the website actually has a celebrated column dedicated to metal) and post punk to hip hop, pop and space […]

Leave a Reply

