Death Metal Meets Stoner? Hunters – Birth To Soil

26 Aug
Death Metal Meets Stoner - Hunters Birth to Soil

Here kitty, kitty!

If you have ever mused that your stoner rock needed a little more feral growl in the vocal department, Hunters could be for you.

The music is fairly straight up 70s-style fuzzy stoner grooves with a few fun gallops here and there. The death metal vocals though definitely give it an, ahem, unique flavour.

I quite like it myself. Not sure how much of a crossover appeal there is though.

The Chicago band are unsigned and you can stream their album Birth To Soil here.

I’m loving that artwork too.

Thanks to quality blog American Aftermath for the heads up on this.

3 Responses to “Death Metal Meets Stoner? Hunters – Birth To Soil”

  1. Full Metal Attorney August 31, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Sounds interesting. I might have to check it out. “Crossover appeal” is meaningless to me, as I’m already a huge fan of death metal and I love some 70’s style fuzzy stoner grooves as well.

  2. IPreferTheirOldStuff September 4, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Two tracks in and I’m liking this, it’s got that sort of crossover/fusion that Kvelertak achieved, balls out aggression mixed with a funky groove!

    • Kuz September 7, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      Glad you like it. I think I’d like it a bit heavier in the guitar department but it’s a good fun listen and something a bit different.

Leave a Reply

