On My Turntable: Witch Mountain, The Smashing Pumpkins, El-P and Decoder Ring…

29 Jun
jsnbcdkhebc

Spot the hilarious joke….

Don’t be fooled, while there’s not much metal on this list, I’m not going soft. I’ve been hammering MDG favourites Book of Black Earth and Balaclava this past week.

*Masculinity assured, he stops swinging it around and slips back where it belongs*

Yet there’s been plenty of time for non d-beat at MDG Towers. I know. Shit’s craycray, huh?

I have also created a Spotify playlist so you bastards can have a listen. Not that you’ll bother, you James Blunts (that’s cockney rhyming slang my beloved American readers… you work it out).

Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream

There may be a brand new Pumpkins album out in Oceanic but nothing will top the muscular, dreamy sheets of guitar noise that flex and shimmer on Siamese Dream.

I doubt I’ll ever tire of the record that showed me rock could be as rich as any electronica.

Dinosaur Jr – You’re Living All Over Me

It took 20 years to get around to this. J Mascis actually rocks pretty hard. Who knew? Replace his nasal whine with a sphincter-loosening roar and this would be beyond awesome.

A Place to Bury Strangers – Worship

Such an awesome sound. A viciously thuggish rhythm section tooled up with  screeds of sheet metal guitar and crackling feedback. Shame the vocals are lifted from a Depeche Mode record and the deeper in you get, the more the post-punk starts to creep over the album like mould.

Descendents – Milo Goes to College

Note to self: stop trying to like straight up punk. It’s never going to work out between us. NER-NER-NER ad nauseam and thinner than a cup of McDonalds coffee. NEXT!

Lantern for a Gale – Lands More Hostile

Epic hardcore apparently. Whatevs. It takes a little while to get going but warms up to some nice chuntering melodic battery. Six-minutes plus on highlight Inauthentic Selves may be stretching it a little but these Irish punks just about pull it off.

Frames – IN VIA

File under “Bands that sound like Explosions in the Sky”. Personally, I like my shit to twinkle. Do you?

Pelican – The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw

More postage – this time it’s metal that’s allegedly been left in the rear-view mirror. I’ve never quite been won over completely by Pelican but I enjoyed listening to this album. March to the Sea is on the playlist as a nod to Baroness’ upcoming album *wets pants a little in fear and excitement*. 

Witch Mountain – Cauldron of the Wild

I’ve been listening to this a SHIT TON. And that’s all I have to say about that right now.

(Unfortunately only previous album South of Salem is on Spotters).

El-P – Cancer 4 Cure

Those of closed mind, turn away now. For the rest of us, fuck me dead but El-P has only gone and made the heaviest, darkest and the best hip-hop record in goddamn years.

Low – Things We Lost in the Fire

I’m working backwards through Low’s considerable back catalogue. Low are one of the few bands that eviscerate me. Every. Fucking. Time.

On this 2001 album Low’s brand of emotional violence is produced by Steve Albini giving them heft as well as beauty.

Decoder Ring – Somersault OST

Criminally underrated outside their native Australia, Decoder Ring are an awesome listening-to-with-the-ladyfriend-getting-stoned electronic band. Somersault was also a fantastic movie.

5 Responses to “On My Turntable: Witch Mountain, The Smashing Pumpkins, El-P and Decoder Ring…”

  1. hhbrady July 2, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Pelican, yes…! I love “Last Day of Winter.” They played it last time I saw them live.

    Also, have you ever heard Witch, another band with Dinosaur Jr.’s J Mascis? Good riffs.

    • Kuz July 3, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

      *cranks up Witch for first time on Spotify, bangs head in amazement*

      • IPreferTheirOldStuff July 5, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

        *does the same thing* OK, why the fuck have I not heard these before?!

  2. IPreferTheirOldStuff July 3, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    The El-P album is one of my favourites of the year so far! Some great records there, Siamese Dream, Things We Lost…, The Fire in our Throats…, all the best albums of the respective artists in my opinion!

    Can’t believe you’ve only just come round to Dinosaur Jr! Better late than never! 😉

    • Kuz July 4, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

      El-P just gets better with each listen.

      Dunno why I never listened to Dinosaur Jr before, they were always around…

Leave a Reply

