High on Fire Live in London 2013

27 Feb
High on Fire Live, Matt Pike

I give you, Mr Pike

An pleasant cudgelling. A righteously refreshing bludgeon to the head. A welcome assault by an angry bear wielding a sackful of half-bricks.

You know what you’re signing up for when you lay down your notes for tickets to a High on Fire show.

I was a slow convert to High on Fire and to this day have only really clicked with Death is This Communion and last year’s De Vermis Mysteriis.

So there’s whole swathes of their back catalogue that remain only passingly familiar.

But given Matt Pike’s recent stint in rehab, who knows how many more tours there might be? I wasn’t going to miss out on experiencing High on Fire live.

So don’t ask me for even a semblance of a set-list (I picked out Fury Whip and that’s yer lot).

All I can really say is that like The Sword, the rump of latter day High on Fire ditties are cut from the same cloth. However, unlike those Texan doom dilettantes, Pike and Co sweat blood and bullets, branding their name in your flesh.

High on Fire Live

Musical boulder chucker extraordinaire

Not only that but despite the daft Slayerised Motörhead tag sometimes tossed their way, who else carves out riffs quite like High on Fire?

No-fucking-one.

So I may love many other bands more but there’s nothing quite like seeing a shirtless Matt Pike crushing mountains into dust with nothing but the densest of sound.

Now, in a Monkey Defies Gravity first, revel in my averagely*-recorded video!

*OK, so I over-hyped it. Poorly-recorded video then. Next time I will hold my phone the other way around also. But hey, it put a smile on your face didn’t it? Didn’t it?

2 Responses to “High on Fire Live in London 2013”

  1. hhbrady February 27, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

    I was fucking thrilled by the video, quite frankly. No mere smile, that…. I am listening to them now as we speak. As I write, I mean.

    • Kuz February 27, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

      My job is done! There can be no greater honour that sharing that elation when the drums kick in and Pike drops the hammer. I have watched that clip about 20 times on my phone (where it’s a lot clearer) and I still grin every time. High on Fire is a fucking bulldozer.

Leave a Reply

