Adventures in Death Metal: Cerebrate – Soul’s Abyss

8 Feb
Cerebrate Soul's Abyss Demo

Hi my name's Travis, I'm a management consultant. What do you do?

Fancy some murky death metal sir? Served on a bed of filth with a side salad of utter grot?

Well, if you put it like that, how could I possibly resist?

Cerebrate is Ash Borer after they swap their black metal pashminas for a set of death metal wellies.

And Soul’s Abyss is their two track tape demo that is harder to get hold of than a greased piglet in a darkened room.

Ignore the shitty sound quality and throw yourself headlong into the abyss on the scree of distorted fuzz and sustained riffs.

It’s old school for sure and references some usual suspects but there is an air of originality and noisy experimentalism that has sweet fuck all with tech-prog-djent-fuck-off-and-die.

Check it (a word of warning though, this shit swarms):

2 Responses to “Adventures in Death Metal: Cerebrate – Soul’s Abyss”

  1. hhbrady February 9, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Why is Travis an inherently funny name? And yet it is.

    I really like the production: I mean, I can clearly hear the ride symbol at the beginning. It sounds like it was recorded live, like every tape I traded 25 years ago.

    • Kuz February 9, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      When I say shitty sound, I guess I mean it’s lo-fi rather than badly produced. I love that cymbal sound too, it makes me think “more cowbell” but in all seriousness it gives a wonderfully incongruous edge that continues throughout the track in one form or another.

Leave a comment